Lembrança do Senhor do Bonfim da Bahia

Three Knots

Two colors

One friendship

A promise among friends

Wishing for a better future

A tangible reminder that out there are people who care

And when it falls apart

We will come together

 

A friend of mine came back from spending Christmas in Brazil with her family and brought back Brazilian wish ribbons. This was the first time in a while that we all were together so we decided to share in the experience and tie up these bracelets. The idea behind them is that a friend gives you one and they tie 3 knots on it for 3 wishes when the ribbon finally falls off your wishes come true. While I doubt my wishes will come true (don’t believe in that stuff) it is comforting to look at my wrist and see a band that has a meaning of friendship. At times I believe we can feel like nobody cares for us… we are alone, but when I look I think of those that I share this bond with. This meaning is all the more powerful for me. Sometimes I look and remember that they do care.

One thought on “Lembrança do Senhor do Bonfim da Bahia”

Leave a comment